Starting over pt 4

As I said at the start of this, a few months ago I read my first m/m erotic romance and was hooked. Very soon after I read that first one I had a sentence pop into my head for the opening words of a story of my own set in the genre. A week after that and I was writing down ideas for books 2 -7 and three unrelated books. Grrrrr… the plot bunnies are breeding! Not that I was complaining, but sheesh! Let me finish one!
I haven’t been this excited by writing in a very long time, probably since my 3rd or 4th trip to Greece, laying on a sun lounger by the pool with a pad of A4 and a pen for hours on end… oh! Sunshine! I miss you! We haven’t seen nearly enough of you this year in the UK. Anyway… it’s been a long time since I was writing this much and really enjoying it. I hope that one day someone reads the stories I am creating, with as much enjoyment as I am getting from writing them down.
At the moment my family knows I write, but they don’t know what I am writing! And I am not sure I will ever tell them or not. How exactly do I tell my grandmother (who’s first husband left her for another man) that I am writing m/m erotic romance? Or my mother (when she blames her messed up life on her dad leaving her mum for another guy)? While I am all for people being who they are, and supporting any and all who need it in the fight for equality, I think in this case it might be better to simply let sleeping dogs lie and keep this information to myself. It’s funny though, I think my son’s other grandmother would probably be fine with what I write, even if she didn’t read it herself. Love you H, if you ever read this!
And there goes my next new start. A new style of writing requires a new penname, which these days needs a new blog and a new Facebook account so I can start making friends in the business, other writers (who, I have to say, are GREAT! I am loving talking to them and the things they post about and the books they write, I feel like I HAVE FOUND MY PEOPLE  ), publishers, cover artists and maybe one day even some readers who like my work. I can dream…
So, at the end, never be afraid to begin anew. Starting over can be all sorts of fun.

Violet. xx

By violetjoiceycowen

Leave a Reply

